The Crown News

…bringing the world closer to you

Akpabio emerges Senate President, defeats Yari

1 min read

Senator Godswill Akpabio has emerged the 10th President of the Senate after defeating Senator Abdulaziz Yari.

Akpabio, a former Senator Minority Leader polled 63 votes to defeat Yari, a former governor of Zamfara, who scored 46 votes.

The lawmakers-elect had earlier commenced voting on the floor of the Nigerian Senate, in the build-up to the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly.

Senator Ali Ndume nominated Senator Godswill Akpabi, after reading the biography of the former Akwa Ibom governor.

Akpabio’s nomination was seconded by Senator Olamilekan Solomon Yayi from Ogun state.

Similarly, Senator Ishaku Abbo nominated Senator Abdul Aziz Yari as Senate President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.